Adjunct Professors and Adjunct Research Professors

Who Can Supervise My Thesis?

Name and Affiliation Email
Claudio Aporta
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Alberta)
Dalhousie University
***Anthropology
claudio.aporta@dal.ca
Maria Barrados
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Barrados Consulting Inc.
***Sociology
mariabarrados@cunet.carleton.ca
Simon Brascoupé
Adjunct Research Professor
M.A. (SUNY)
CIHR, Certified First Nations Health Manager
***Anthropology MA only
simonbrascoupe@cunet.carleton.ca
Kristin Bright
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (California, Santa-Cruz)
Carleton University
***Anthropology
kristin.bright@utoronto.ca
Kara Brisson-Boivin
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Director of Research, Mediasmarts
*** Sociology MA only
karabrisson@cunet.carleton.ca
Gregory (Greg) Brown
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
***Sociology
gregoryr.brown@carleton.ca
Christine Bruckert
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Ottawa, Department of Criminology
***Sociology
christine.bruckert@uottawa.ca
Daniel Buckles
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Senior Research Associate (Carleton)
www.sas2.net
***Anthropology
daniel.buckles@carleton.ca
Bonar Buffam
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (University of British Columbia)
Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia
***Sociology
bonar.buffam@ubc.ca
Tullio Caputo
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Michigan State)
Carleton University, retired
***Sociology
tullio.caputo@carleton.ca
Erin Connell
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Privy Council Office, Government of Canada
***Sociology MA only
erinconnell@sympatico.ca
Simten (Hatice) Cosar
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Bilkent)
Cornell Institute for European Studies
***Sociology MA only
hsc45@cornell.edu
Walter DeKeseredy
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (York)
Anna Deane Carlson Endowed Chair of Social Sciences,
Director of the Research Center on Violence,
Department of Sociology and Anthropology,
West Virginia University
***Sociology
walter.dekeseredy@mail.wvu.edu
Colleen Dell
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Saskatchewan
***Sociology
colleen.dell@usask.ca
Keith Denny
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Director, Research and Policy, Canadian Healthcare Association
***Sociology
kdenny@cihi.ca
Jonathan Dewar
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Executive Director, First Nations Information Governance Centre
***Sociology
jdewar@fnigc.ca
Chris Dixon
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (University of California, Santa Cruz)
***Sociology MA only
chris.dixon@carleton.ca
Andrea Doucet
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Cambridge)
Sociology Professor, Brock University
Canada Research Chair in Gender, Work and Care
***Sociology
adoucet@brocku.ca
Karine Geoffrion
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Montréal)
Contract Instructor, Carleton University
***Anthropology
karine.geoffrion@carleton.ca
Bryan C. Gordon
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Calgary)
Archaeological Survey of Canada
Canadian Museum of Civilization
***Anthropology MA only
bryan.gordon@museedelhistoire.ca
Megan Graham
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
***Anthropology
megan.graham@carleton.ca
Frank Graves
Adjunct Research Professor
M.A. (Carleton)
***Sociology MA only
fgraves@ekos.com
Jennie Hornosty
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (York)
Department of Sociology, University of New Brunswick (Retired)
***Sociology
jennie.hornosty@carleton.ca
Leslie-Anne Keown
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Calgary)
Statistics Canada
***Sociology
leslieanne.keown@carleton.ca
Gerison Lansdown
Adjunct Professor
Honorary Doctorate (Carleton)
Associate, International Institute for Child Rights & Development
***Sociology MA only
gerison.lansdown@gmail.com
Sylvie Leblanc
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Alberta)
The Inuksuit Project
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Carleton University
***Anthropology MA only
sylvie_leblanc@carleton.ca
Andrew MacKenzie
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Public Health Agency of Canada: Centre for Surveillance and Applied Research
***Sociology MA only
mackenzie168@rogers.com
Bertha Mo
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (University of California)
***Anthropology MA only
bertiemo@yahoo.com
Hodan Mohamed
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (University of Ottawa)
***Anthropology MA only
h.mohamed@kasmodev.com
Kathleen Moss
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton University)
***Sociology
kathleen.moss@carleton.ca
Pat O’Malley
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (London University)
University of Sydney, Faculty of Law
***Sociology
pat.o’malley@anu.edu.au
Jane Parpart
Adjunct Research Professor
University of Massachusetts, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance
***Sociology
jane.parpart@umb.edu
Landon Pearson
Adjunct Professor
M.Ed. (Ottawa)
Landon Pearson Resource Centre for the Study of Childhood and Children’s Rights
Carleton University
***Sociology MA only
landon.pearson@carleton.ca
Justin Piché
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Ottawa, Department of Criminology
***Sociology MA only
Justin.Piche@uottawa.ca
Jean-Luc Pilon
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Curator of Ontario Archaeology, Canadian Museum of Civilization
Archaeologist
***Anthropology MA only
Jean-Luc.Pilon@civilization.ca
Bali Ram
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Ohio State)
Statistics Canada
***Sociology
bram42@yahoo.com
Sheila Rao
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
***Anthropology
sheila.rao@carleton.ca
Eloy Rivas-Sanchez
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
***Sociology
eloyrivassanchez@cunet.carleton.ca
Tom Sherwood
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Carleton University, retired
not a supervisor
tom_sherwood@carleton.ca
Rob Shields
Adjunct Research Professor
PhD (Sussex)
Professor, University of Alberta
***Sociology
rshields@ualberta.ca
Roberta Sinclair
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
***Sociology MA only
roberta.sinclair@rcmp-grc.gc.ca
Frances Slaney
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Laval)
Carleton University, retired
***Anthropology
frances.slaney@carleton.ca
Valerie Stam
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Executive Director, City for All Women Initiative (CAWI)
***Sociology
valeriestam@cunet.carleton.ca
Paul Thibaudeau
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
***Anthropology MA only
paul.thibaudeau@carleton.ca
Lil Tonmyr
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Public Health Agency of Canada
Canadian Child Welfare Research
***Sociology
lil.tonmyr@canada.ca
Daniel Tubb
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology at University of New Brunswick)
***Anthropology
dtubb@unb.ca
Adnan Turegun
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Centre for International Migration and Settlement Studies
***Sociology
adnan.turegun@carleton.ca
Michel Vallée
Adjunct Research Professor
M.Sc. (École de Criminologie, Université de Montréal)
Former Faculty (Carleton)
***Sociology
michel.vallee@carleton.ca
Melanie White
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Senior Lecturer in Social Theory
University of New South Wales
Former Faculty (Carleton)
***Sociology
melanie.white@unsw.edu.au
Nathan Young
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (British Columbia)
Vice-Dean of Governance and Internationalization, Faculty of Social Sciences
University of Ottawa
***Sociology
nyoung@uottawa.ca

* May supervise both MA and PhD theses
** May supervise MA theses and co-supervise PhD theses until granted tenure, when will have full supervision status.
*** May co-supervise MA and PhD theses with the permission of FGPA

Supervision status is granted based on rank. If you have questions about supervisory status, please consult the Graduate Administrator. The legend above is meant as an indication only. Please make sure to consult with the faculty you’re interested in working with. This table indicates which types of professors, instructors, and adjunct faculty are eligible to serve as Supervisors, Co-Supervisors, and Committee members for M.A. and Ph.D. student theses.