Adjunct Professors and Adjunct Research Professors

Who Can Supervise My Thesis?

Name and Affiliation Email
Seantel Anaïs
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Winnipeg
***Sociology MA only
sean.anais@uottawa.ca
Claudio Aporta
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Alberta)
Dalhousie University
***Anthropology
claudio.aporta@dal.ca
Tanya Basok
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (York)
University of Windsor
***Sociology
basok@uwindsor.ca
Simon Brascoupé
Adjunct Research Professor
M.A. (SUNY)
CIHR, Certified First Nations Health Manager
***Anthropology MA only
simonbrascoupe@hotmail.com
Kristin Bright
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (California, Santa-Cruz)
Carleton University
***Anthropology
kristin.bright@utoronto.ca
Kara Brisson-Boivin
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Director of Research, Mediasmarts
*** Sociology MA only
kara.brisson@carleton.ca
Christine Bruckert
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Ottawa, Department of Criminology
***Sociology
christine.bruckert@uottawa.ca
Daniel Buckles
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Senior Research Associate (Carleton)
www.sas2.net
***Anthropology
daniel.buckles@carleton.ca
Tullio Caputo
Adjunct Research Professor

Ph.D. (Michigan State)
Carleton University, retired
***Sociology
tullio.caputo@carleton.ca
Erin Connell
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Privy Council Office, Government of Canada
***Sociology MA only
erinconnell@sympatico.ca
Simten (Hatice) Cosar
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Bilkent)
Cornell Institute for European Studies
***Sociology MA only
hsc45@cornell.edu
Walter DeKeseredy
Adjunct Research Professor

Ph.D. (York)
Anna Deane Carlson Endowed Chair of Social Sciences,
Director of the Research Center on Violence,
Department of Sociology and Anthropology,
West Virginia University
***Sociology
walter.dekeseredy@mail.wvu.edu
Colleen Dell
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Saskatchewan
***Sociology
colleen.dell@usask.ca
Keith Denny
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Director, Research and Policy, Canadian Healthcare Association
***Sociology
kdenny@cihi.ca
Jonathan Dewar
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Executive Director, First Nations Information Governance Centre
***Sociology
jdewar@fnigc.ca
Chris Dixon
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (USC, Santa-Cruz)
Board Member, Institute for Anarchist Studies
***Sociology MA only
chris.dixon@carleton.ca
Andrea Doucet
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Cambridge)
Sociology Professor, Brock University
Canada Research Chair in Gender, Work and Care
***Sociology
adoucet@brocku.ca
Karine Geoffrion
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Montréal)
Contract Instructor, Carleton University
***Anthropology
karine.geoffrion@carleton.ca
Bryan C. Gordon
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Calgary)
Archaeological Survey of Canada
Canadian Museum of Civilization
***Anthropology MA only
bryan.gordon@museedelhistoire.ca
Jennie Hornosty
Adjunct Research Professor

Ph.D. (York)
Department of Sociology, University of New Brunswick (Retired)
***Sociology MA only
jennie.hornosty@carleton.ca
Beth E. Jackson
Adjunct Research Professor

Ph.D. (York)
Public Health Agency of Canada
***Sociology
beth.jackson@phac-aspc.gc.ca
Leslie-Anne Keown
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Calgary)
Statistics Canada
***Sociology
leslieanne.keown@carleton.ca
Gerison Lansdown
Adjunct Professor
Honorary Doctorate (Carleton)
Associate, International Institute for Child Rights & Development
***Sociology MA only
gerison.lansdown@gmail.com
Sylvie Leblanc
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Alberta)
The Inuksuit Project
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Carleton University
***Anthropology MA only
sylvie_leblanc@carleton.ca
Andrew MacKenzie
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Public Health Agency of Canada: Centre for Surveillance and Applied Research
***Sociology MA only
andrew.mackenzie@carleton.ca
Pat O’Malley
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (London University)
University of Sydney, Faculty of Law
***Sociology
pat.o’malley@anu.edu.au
Jane Parpart
Adjunct Research Professor

University of Massachusetts, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance
***Sociology
jane.parpart@umb.edu
Mike Patterson
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Community Health Research Unit
University of Ottawa
***Sociology
mike_patterson@carleton.ca
Senator Landon Pearson, O.C.
Adjunct Professor
M.Ed. (Ottawa)
Landon Pearson Resource Centre for the Study of Childhood and Children’s Rights
Carleton University
***Sociology MA only
landon.pearson@carleton.ca
Justin Piché
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Ottawa, Department of Criminology
***Sociology MA only
Justin.Piche@uottawa.ca
Jean-Luc Pilon
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Curator of Ontario Archaeology, Canadian Museum of Civilization
Archaeologist
***Anthropology MA only
Jean-Luc.Pilon@civilization.ca
Bali Ram
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Ohio State)
Statistics Canada
***Sociology
bram42@yahoo.com
Tom Sherwood
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Carleton University, retired
*not a supervisor
tom_sherwood@carleton.ca
Rob Shields
Adjunct Research Professor
PhD (Sussex)
Professor, University of Alberta
***Sociology
rshields@ualberta.ca
Roberta Sinclair
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
***Sociology MA only
roberta.sinclair@rcmp-grc.gc.ca
Frances Slaney
Adjunct Research Professor

Ph.D. (Laval)
Carleton University, retired
***Anthropology
frances.slaney@carleton.ca
Paul Thibaudeau
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
***Anthropology MA only
paul.thibaudeau@carleton.ca
Lil Tonmyr
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Public Health Agency of Canada
Canadian Child Welfare Research
***Sociology
lil.tonmyr@canada.ca
Adnan Turegun
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Centre for International Migration and Settlement Studies
***Sociology
adnan.turegun@carleton.ca
Melanie White
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Senior Lecturer in Social Theory
University of New South Wales
Former Faculty (Carleton)
***Sociology
melanie.white@unsw.edu.au
Nathan Young
Adjunct Research Professor
Ph.D. (British Columbia)
Vice-Dean of Governance and Internationalization, Faculty of Social Sciences
University of Ottawa
***Sociology
nyoung@uottawa.ca

* May supervise both MA and PhD theses
** May supervise MA theses and co-supervise PhD theses until granted tenure, when will have full supervision status.
*** May co-supervise MA and PhD theses with the permission of FGPA

Supervision status is granted based on rank. If you have questions about supervisory status, please consult the Graduate Administrator, Darlene Moss. The following legend is meant as an indication only. Please make sure to consult with the faculty you’re interested in working with. This table indicates which types of professors, instructors, and adjunct faculty are eligible to serve as Supervisors, Co-Supervisors, and Committee members for M.A. and Ph.D. student theses.