Anthropology Faculty and Their Research Interests

Who Can Supervise My Thesis?

Name Interests Email
Virginia Caputo* Gendered childhoods; girlhood; children’s rights; feminist theories and methodologies; transnational feminism; globalization; schooling; youth and media; violence; health virginia.caputo@carleton.ca
Marie-Eve Carrier-Moisan* Feminist and visual anthropology, political economy and governance of care/sexuality/intimacy, affect and emotion, sexual and gender politics, infrastructures of care and disability marieeve.carriermoisan@carleton.ca
Danielle DiNovelli-Lang* Human-Animal relations, value theory, posthumanism, natural resource economies, U.S./Indigenous politics, Alaska danielle.dinovelli@carleton.ca
Matthew Hawkins Soccer supporters, political uses of memory, emotion and affect, social movements, urban anthropology, Argentina matthew.hawkins@carleton.ca
Beatriz Juárez-Rodríguez** Political anthropology, race and racialization, ethno-racial social movements and the state in Latin America, black feminism, African diaspora studies, memory studies beatrizjuarezrodriguez@cunet.carleton.ca
Jean-Michel Landry** Political anthropology, critical theory, postcolonial studies, religion, gender, migration, the Middle East jeanmichel.landry@carleton.ca
Bernhard Leistle* Phenomenological anthropology, anthropology of psychiatry, semiotics, Morocco bernhard.leistle@carleton.ca
Donna Patrick* Linguistic ethnography, indigeneity, transnationalism and urbanization, Arctic, language endangerment and revitalization donna.patrick@carleton.ca
Jen Pylypa* Medical anthropology; health and well-being of women and children; transnational adoption; motherhood; single parenthood; immigrant health; self-medication practices; global migration of health workers; Southeast Asia, especially Laos and Thailand; immigrants in North America; Canada jen.pylypa@carleton.ca
Carolyn Ramzy* Feminist and anti-racist ethnomusicology; Egyptian Coptic Christian music; popular musics of the Middle East and connected diasporas; politics of citizenship and belonging; gender and the sounding of religious subjectivities; virtual ethnography and field research; decolonizing music scholarship; critical race and diversity studies. carolyn.ramzy@carleton.ca
Daniel Rosenblatt* Indigeneity, middleclassness, electronic media, identity, cultural theory daniel.rosenblatt@carleton.ca
Blair Rutherford* Politics and possibilities of international development, civil society in sub-Saharan Africa; rural livelihoods in sub-Saharan Africa; anthropology of citizenship, gender, state and globalization; colonialism and post-colonialism; migration; public anthropology blair.rutherford@carleton.ca
Vivian Solana** Political and feminist anthropology, postcolonial studies, forced displacement, anti-colonial revolutionary movements, gender, generation and transnational activism vivian.solana@carleton.ca
Click here for a list of our Adjunct Professors and Adjunct Research Professors, and here for our current Visiting Scholars, Professors, and Researchers
Anthropology Faculty in Other Departments
Melanie Adrian* Minorities rights in religiously, ethnically and culturally diverse societies melanie.adrian@carleton.ca
Logan Cochrane** Food security, climate change, social justice, governance and collective action logan.cochrane@carleton.ca
Karen Hébert* Environmental politics in the subarctic North, resource industries and commercial fisheries, struggles over sustainability karen.hebert@carleton.ca
William Hébert** Critical criminology, prison studies, gender and sexuality studies, and legal and medical anthropology william.hebert@carleton.ca
Kahente Horn-Miller* Indigenous methodologies, Indigenous women, identity politics, colonization, Indigenous governance, consensus-based decision making kahente.hornmiller@carleton.ca
Hollis Moore** Criminal law and marginalization, incarceration and critical carceral studies, police violence in the Americas hollis.moore@carleton.ca
Monica Patterson* Children/childhoods, memory, violence, race and racialisation, visual culture, heritage, museums, curating, sub-Saharan Africa monica.patterson@carleton.ca

* May supervise both MA and PhD theses
** May supervise MA theses and co-supervise PhD theses until granted tenure, when will have full supervision status.
*** May co-supervise MA and PhD theses with the permission of FGPA

Supervision status is granted based on rank. If you have questions about supervisory status, please consult the Graduate Administrator. The legend above is meant as an indication only. Please make sure to consult with the faculty you’re interested in working with. This table indicates which types of professors, instructors, and adjunct faculty are eligible to serve as Supervisors, Co-Supervisors, and Committee members for M.A. and Ph.D. student theses.