The Centre for European Studies has been selected to host a new Jean Monnet Network on Transatlantic Trade Politics. In addition to Carleton University, the Network includes partners at the University of Antwerp (Belgium), Bates College (US), Paris-Lodron-University of Salzburg (Austria), and the University of Warwick (UK). The Network is supported by a grant of €299,929 (approximately $465,000 CAD) from the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union.

The Network seeks to investigate why trade relations between the European Union (EU) and its transatlantic partners have become more contentious in recent years, and how this politicization impacts EU trade policy as it addresses critical challenges in the second decade of the 21st century. The work program of the Network is structured around four key themes: (1) politicization of trade relations – explanations, manifestations, implications; (2) transatlantic trade in the context of global trade challenges; (3) the reconfiguration of transatlantic trade relations after Brexit, and (4) trade policy and climate change.

The Network will run for three years (2020-2023). It will organize workshops, produce scholarly publications, and facilitate exchanges between the participating universities. It will foster transnational connections between students through a summer school and virtual links between classrooms. It will also engage in activities that make research findings relevant to policy makers, business, and civil society. It will thus enhance informed public discourse about the politics of transatlantic trade.

The Network is coordinated by CES Co-Director Achim Hurrelmann. Other lead scholars include Joan DeBardeleben (Carleton University), Crina Viju-Miljusevic (Carleton University), Dirk De Bièvre (University of Antwerp), Elvire Fabry (Jacques Delors Institute Paris), Francesco Duina (Bates College), Andreas Dür (Paris-Lodron-University of Salzburg), Gabriele Spilker (Paris-Lodron-University of Salzburg), Ece Özlem Atikcan (University of Warwick), and Gabriel Siles-Brügge (University of Warwick).