Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science at Carleton University is one of the largest in Canada. It encompasses thirty-five faculty members, who teach and research in all fields of the discipline and offers undergraduate and graduate programs at BA, MA, and PhD levels. For more information about the department’s research expertise please visit:

The Department of Political Science is part of the Faculty of Public Affairs, which brings together twelve departments and schools focused on preparing students to apply scholarly knowledge to the practical world. Located in Canada’s capital city, the Department has established strong connections with policy-makers in parliament, the federal government, the diplomatic community, and a wide range of non-governmental organizations.

Visiting Chairs are expected to contribute to the research activities of the Department, including presenting their research findings to the faculty and students during their stay.  If interested, they may be invited to teach an undergraduate course on North American politics (such as PSCI 4607. North American Politics).

Specializations: North American politics with a focus on the political, security, military, economic, social or cultural dimensions of Canada-U.S. relations.