Rocket is a competition for Ontario’s graduating industrial designers hosted by ACIDO. Graduates nominated at the top of their class from Carleton University, Humber College, OCAD University, and Sheridan College have the opportunity to pitch their final year thesis projects to a jury of select industry professionals with the top winners announced at the Rocket Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to our 4th-year student’s Rocket 2020 Nominees and  Award Winners!

The School of Industrial Design had 12 nominees (

Allison Kachala  Brennan Chiu Tatum Dietrich Patrick  El Sayegh
Sophie Nakashima Jenna Mcmulllen Kaj Hallgrimsson Vivian Lee
Denise Pong Andy Valiente Yasimine Riachi Alex Young-Davies

The Rocket’s awards are broken down into two areas, 3 awards of excellence and 13 sponsorship awards. We took first place for the awards of excellence and won five of the sponsor awards. Congratulations on amazing projects!

1st Place Tatum Dietrich
Project: Moshi Inje Stove

Sponsorship Awards:

Prototyping Award
Yasmine Riachi
Project: Cove
Market Ready Award
Tatum Dietrich
Project:Moshi Inje Stove
Sustainability Award and Design for Good Award
Alex Young-Davies
Design for Manufacturing Award
Kaj Hallgrimsson
Project:Ceramic Water Filter

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 in
Share: Twitter, Facebook