P r o g r a m

Carleton University, Saturday, March 2, 2002

Registration, coffee, and conversation

9:45 am
Welcome, Dr. Allan J. Ryan
New Sun Chair in Aboriginal Art and Culture

Welcome, John Medicine Horse Kelly
Director, Carleton University Centre for Aboriginal Education, Research, and Culture

10:00 am
Drew Hayden Taylor
award-winning Ojibway author, playwright,
and director of Redskins, Tricksters, and Puppy Stew,
an NFB production on the healing power of humour

11:00 am
Robert Kavanagh
Executive Director and Academic Dean,
White Mountain Academy of the Arts, Elliot Lake
Earl Commanda
Chief, Serpent River First Nation, and Chair, North Shore Tribal Council;
collaborators in the formation of the White Mountain Academy,
a unique cross-cultural art school

12:00 pm
Luncheon of Native cuisine in the Carleton University Art Gallery foyer

Luncheon Menu:
• Braised rabbit with cranberries and juniper berries
• Wild rice mix
• Roasted root vegetables
• Vegetarian: rice-stuffed squash
• Bannock
• Upside-down maple pudding
• Cookies

Luncheon music by Ian Phillips (Rohahes)
Mohawk elder and flutist,
and Paula du Hamel
Peigan drummer and dancer

1:15 pm
Don Kelly
Ojibway comedian featured on CBC TV’s Comics
and in the NFB video Redskins, Tricksters, and Puppy Stew

2:00 pm
Jeffrey Thomas
Onondaga photographer and curator of Where are the Children?,
an exhibition of residential school photographs
for the Aboriginal Healing Foundation

3:00 pm
Nutrition break

3:15 pm
Evie Mark
Inuit film director/host/co-producer of Before I Was Born,
a video on FAS/E (Fetal Alcohol Syndrome/Effect)
produced for Pauktuutit Inuit Women’s Association.
Roberta Stout
project coordinator of
Before I Was Born video and educational media kit

4:15 pm
Panel discussion with all presenters and participants
on issues discussed during the day

5:00 pm
Closing remarks

nsc- logo-small

A presentation of the New Sun Chair in Aboriginal Art and Culture
with the support of the Dean of Arts and Social Sciences and the New Sun Fund
administered by the Community Foundation of Ottawa, plus the generosity of private donors