Undergraduate Student Award Recipients – 2023

Be inspired! Congratulations to this year’s award recipients, not only highly dedicated to their studies, they give back to the community in remarkable ways.

photo of Ana Clara Miranda GuimaraesAna Clara Miranda Guimaraes
Vered Foundation Scholarship

The Vered Foundation Scholarship was awarded to Ana Clara Miranda Guimaraes in recognition of her outstanding academic achievement in the Political Science program and her leadership and commitment to the Carleton community. In addition to her dedication to studies, Ana Clara was a First Year Representative of the Carleton Political Science Society (CPSS) and will be VP Membership Development 2023-24 for CPSS.  She has also been a volunteer notetaker, and helped the current Carleton University Students Association (CUSA) President run a successful campaign.  She will be VP Humanitarian and Cultural Affairs for Carleton’s Humanitarian Organization of Latin American Students (HOLAS) for the Year of 2023-2024.

photo of Shireen FaisalShireen Faisal
Carl G. Jacobsen Peace Prize

The Carl G. Jacobsen Peace Prize is awarded to an outstanding student who is studying in the area of peace and conflict resolution.  This year the prize has been awarded to Shireen Faisal.  In addition to maintaining a record of academic excellence throughout her program, Shireen has been a tireless volunteer. She was elected President of the Carleton Political Science Society (CPSS) and also served as President of the Carleton University Pakistani Students Association (PSA).  In the broader community her work with the Anishinabek Nation Governance agreement to restore the determinative rights of First Nations makes a valuable contribution to addressing some of the many challenges facing Indigenous peoples in Canada.

photo of Sara McCabeSara McCabe
Hume Wrong Scholarship

Sara McCabe is this year’s winner of the Hume Wrong Scholarship. Sara has demonstrated commitment and perseverance in her studies and in her engagement with the Carleton and broader communities.

The Hume Wrong Scholarship was established and endowed in 1962 by Mrs. Hume Wrong in memory of her late husband, Humphrey Hume Wrong (1894-1954) who was a distinguished Canadian historian, professor, career diplomat, and Canada’s ambassador to the United States. The Scholarship is awarded to a leading third year student preceding the final year of their program.

photo of Stella OliverStella Oliver
Garret Elsey Memorial Award

This year, the Garrett Elsey Memorial Award has been awarded to Stella Oliver. In addition to maintaining a record of academic excellence throughout her program, Stella has contributed greatly to the Carleton community through her ongoing roles in varsity athletics and the Jr. Ravens program, from volunteer coach to on-field coordinator to helping to spearhead a mental health initiative for soccer athletes.

The Garrett Elsey Memorial award was endowed in memory of Garrett Elsey, BAHons/2012, by his family and many friends to celebrate his love of learning, generosity, adventurous spirit, active involvement in Carleton campus life and being a proud Canadian. It is awarded to a student in their graduating year who, in addition to maintaining the academic levels of the degree program, has been an active participant in extracurricular activities at the University.

Sare Sulaiman
David J. Bellamy Memorial Scholarship

This year’s David J. Bellamy Memorial Scholarship is awarded to Sare Sulaiman for her work as an advocate for justice, equality, and the preservation of human dignity. Sare has overcome obstacles and demonstrated resilience and commitment to education in the face of adversity. The Bellamy Scholarship was endowed in honour of David J. Bellamy (1940-2004), who was both a graduate of and valued faculty member in Carleton’s Department of Political Science. The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate honours student in their final year of the program.

The Honourable Walter Baker Memorial Scholarship
in Political Science

The Honourable Walter Baker Memorial Scholarship is given in memory of The Honourable Walter Baker (1930-1983), a distinguished graduate of Carleton University and Canadian Parliamentarian. The award is granted to students who have demonstrated high academic standing and political leadership or involvement in politics with the Carleton community and beyond. In addition to their academic achievements, we have listed some of the inspiring work our 2023 recipients have accomplished.

photo of Sophia MartinezSofia Martinez

Sofia has demonstrated academic excellence and has devoted time to work as an intern in the Office of MP Brad Redekopp, fueling her passion for both academics and work on Parliament Hill.

photo of Navreet SidhuNavreet Sidhu

Navreet is an excellent student and dedicated member of the Carleton community and beyond. In addition to her high academic achievement, she has been involved with several student organizations including the Carleton Political Science Society (CPSS), the Women’s Legal Network, the Carleton University Human Rights Society, UNICEF Carleton, and the Carleton University Debating Society, and has worked as a Parliamentary Assistant for an MP.

photo of Katherine DaCostaKatherine DaCosta

This scholarship is given in recognition of Katherine’s hard work and dedication to her studies. She has also volunteered in Minister Joyce Murray’s office during second year, and is currently working at Public Safety Canada for co-op.

photo of Elena JonesElena Jones

Elena has demonstrated commitment and perseverance in her academic work and achieved high academic standing.

photo of Artur Estrela Da SilvaArtur Estrela da Silva

In addition to being an excellent student, Artur has taken a leadership role in the Carleton Political Science Society (CPSS) and will be the new Co-President for the 2023-24 year.  He also works in the Ottawa community with Habitat for Humanity as a Family Services Officer, helping to improve the living conditions of those in need.

photo of Samuel De PauSamuel De Pau

In addition to academic excellence, Samuel has demonstrated commitment to the community through his work at the Queensway Carleton Hospital, successfully balancing work and studies.

Scholarships for Current Students

In addition to entrance scholarships, there are a number of scholarships available for students currently enrolled in the Political Science program. The awards and their value are announced each spring. Eligible students are encouraged to submit a nomination and application to the Department when the announcement is made. For more information about these Awards, please refer to the University’s extensive scholarships database.

Additional information about entrance scholarships, bursaries, and financial aid can be found through the Awards and Financial Aid website, or you can contact the Awards Office.