The Senate Honorary Degree Committee is responsible for recommending suitable persons for the award of honorary degrees from Carleton University.

Committee Terms of Reference

  1. The Honorary Degrees Committee has the responsibility of recommending to Senate suitable persons for the award of honorary degrees from Carleton University.
  2. The Committee, in making nominations for honorary degrees, will consider merit based on the following criteria:
    (i) A distinguished contribution to the Ottawa community, Canada or the world in the arts and sciences, the professions, the private sector, public service or humanitarian endeavours, or
    (ii) A notable association with, and/or service to, Carleton University.
  3. In its recommendations the Committee will use its best efforts to provide a balanced representation between scholarly disciplines, service and other fields of accomplishment.
  4. The Committee will normally bring recommendations for honorary degrees to the Senate near the beginning of each Calendar year.

Duration of Term

  • Faculty members and the Alumni representative serve for a three-year term (renewable)
  • Student members serve for a one-year term


  1. The President (ex officio)
  2. The Vice-President (Research and International) (Chair) (ex officio)
  3. The Clerk of Senate who serves as Secretary (ex officio)
  4. Five members of faculty (one from each line Faculty) recommended by the Deans and elected by Senate
  5. One retired faculty member elected by Senate
  6. A representative of the Alumni Association nominated by the Alumni Association
  7. One undergraduate student member elected by Senate
  8. One graduate student elected by Senate
  9. Director, Communications and Community Relations (Resource)

Click here to learn more about Carleton University Honorary Degrees and the nomination process.