Carleton’s Academic Governing Body

Senate is the highest academic body in the university. With responsibility for academic governance, Senate makes decisions of significant importance to students and faculty.

Work of the Senate

Regular work of Senate includes awarding degrees, approving medalists, developing scholarships, approving new programs and revising curricula, and establishing regulations concerning students’ academic work. Additionally, Senators oversee and provide feedback to important university documents and strategies. To help in the exercise of its powers, Senate has 10 standing committees and one appeals board. Two elected members of Senate also serve on the Board of Governors.

Learn more about the work of Senate by reading the Senate Annual Report.


Senate is composed of up to 86 members representing the Carleton community:

  • 40 faculty members
  • 2 contract instructors
  • 10 elected undergraduate students
  • 3 graduate students
  • 23 ex-officio members
  • 4 members of the Board of Governors
  • up to 4 special appointments

An appointed faculty member serves as Clerk of Senate, a position that manages the affairs of Senate with the support of the University Secretariat. The university’s President and Vice-Chancellor serves as the Chair of Senate.