For additional terms and more detailed definitions, we suggest EUABC as a user-friendly dictionary of EU-related terminology (maintained by a former Member of the European Parliament).

APEC – Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation forum

ASEAN – Association of Southeast Asian Nations

CAP – Common Agricultural Policy

CCP – Common Commercial Policy

CFSP – Common Foreign and Security Policy

COREPER – Committee of Permanent Representatives

EC – European Community

ECB – European Central Bank

ECJ – European Court of Justice

ECSC – European Coal and Steel Community

EDC – European Defense Community

EDF – European Development Fund

EEC – European Economic Community

EFTA – European Free Trade Association

EMU – Economic and Monetary Union

EP – European Parliament

ESDP – European Security and Defense Policy

EU – European Union

FTA – Free trade area

GATT – General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade

GDP – Gross Domestic Product

GNP – Gross National Product

IGC – Intergovernmental Conference

IR – International Relations

JHA – Justice and Home Affairs

MEP – Member of the European Parliament

NAFTA – North American Free Trade Agreement

NATO – North Atlantic Treaty Organization

NGO – Non-Governmental Organization

OECD – Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

OSCE – Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe

QMV – Qualified Majority Voting

SEA – Single European Act

TEU – Treaty on European Union

Third countries: Countries that do not belong to the European Union

UK – United Kingdom

UN – United Nations

WEU – Western European Union

WTO – World Trade Organization