Awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering to outstanding undergraduate student enrolled in one of the programs within the Department. Eligible recipients will demonstrate excellence in the fields of nuclear engineering and thermal hydraulics, which were passions of Dr. Rogers.

Preference will be for students in the third or fourth year in their program.

Endowed in 2015 in memory of Dr. Rogers who served as a professor in the department for over 20 years (1970-1993). He received numerous awards which, coupled with his impressive professional career, developed his reputation as one of Canada’s leading nuclear safety experts.

Winners to date have been:

2019 S. Brhane
2020 E. Hunt
2021 M. McClure
2022 J. Byvelds
2023 J. Chapin