1. Overview
  2. Selection process
  3. Application Requirements
  4. Past Award Recipients
  5. Application


Dr. Adrian D.C. Chan has established an award to be known as the Adrian D.C. Chan Award for Volunteer and Community Service. The award is issued annually, to a full–time undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in an Engineering program in the Faculty of Engineering and Design. The award recognizes voluntary involvement and community engagement at Carleton University, outside the classroom, and in the community at large.

Selection process

The recipient of this award will be selected by a selection committee. The award consists of a certificate from the associate Dean’s Office or from the Awards Office or a congratulatory letter from Dr. Adrian D.C. Chan, as well as a monetary prize of $500.00, to be presented to the award recipient at a special occasion, at the discretion of Dr. Adrian D.C. Chan.

To qualify for the award, a student must be a current full-time undergraduate or graduate student in the Faculty of Engineering and Design in good standing (CGPA of 7 or above). Students in an Engineering program can apply by themselves, or be nominated by a fellow student, faculty member, Carleton Staff or member of the community at large.

Applications Open October 1, 2023 @ 9 a.m.
Applications Close December 1, 2023 @ 9 a.m.
Selection Process December 1 to December 15, 2023
Candidates Receive Notice of Status of Award December 20, 2023
Presentation of Award SOAR Student Leadership Conference January 2024

Application Requirements

  1. A cover letter addressed to Dr. Adrian D. C. Chan, nominating the student or indicating the student’s interest to apply or accept the nomination for this award, including the student’s full name, student number, regular mailing and email address, and telephone number.
  2. A 250-word statement written by the nominee/applicant explaining why they contribute to their communities.
  3. Two letters of reference (maximum 2 pages each)

Past Award Recipients

2023 Natasha Kunchur (see News Article)

2022 Cameron Davis

2021 Trong Nguyen (see News Article)

2020 Johan Parent and Teodora Blidaru (see News Article and Carleton Pathway Podcast)

2019 Kyra Bloomfield and Rafid Dewan (see News Article)

2018 Juan Posada (see News Article)

2017 Christopher Heit (see News Article)

2016 Mohamed Abdelazez (see News Article)

2015 Jasmine Shaw (see News Article)

2014 Natalie Linklater (see News Article)

2013 Campbell Hennessy (see News Article)

2012 Laura Mutu (see The rewards of volunteerism)


Applications for 2023 are now closed. Applications for 2024 will open in October.