Welcome to the first release of Inside Senate, a new communication channel dedicated to sharing the important work of our highest academic governing body. Senate met on November 30, and here are the highlights:

Welcome New Senate Members

The Senate welcomes the following new members:

  • Sheldon Paul (Undergraduate FPA Representative)
  • Afreen Ahmad (Undergraduate FPA Representative)
  • James Deaville (FASS Faculty Representative)

Chair’s Remarks

President Bacon highlighted the Convocation ceremonies of November 10 where over 1,000 students received a Carleton degree, as well as a number of new experiential learning and recent research successes across the University. He reminded the community that the Provost search and three decanal searches are ongoing. He wished students the best of luck as we near final exam season.

New Specialties in Cognitive Science and Geography

Senate approved the introduction of two new programs:

  1. A specialization in Digital Humanities in the Master of Cognitive Science
  2. A specialization in Data Science in the Master of Arts in Geography

Free Speech Policy

Senate approved the final draft of the Free Speech Policy that was developed by a special Senate Task Force chaired by the Clerk of Senate, Betina Appel Kuzmarov. The final policy and additional information can be found on the Senate website.

Senator Spotlight

The Senate is composed of 86 members representing the Carleton community. In our first spotlight, we feature Betina Appel Kuzmarov, the current Clerk of Senate and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Law and Legal Studies. As Clerk, Betina is responsible for managing the affairs of Senate as well as serving as Marshal of Convocation, Secretary of the General Faculty Board and Senate Electoral Officer. Learn more about Betina.

Next Meeting

The next Senate meeting is January 25, 2019. Click here to view the full schedule and meeting materials. Meeting minutes are posted once they become available.