Senate held its first meeting of the winter term on January 25. Here are the highlights:

Senate Endorses CU Indigenous Strategic Initiatives Committee

As part of their widespread engagement strategy, the co-chairs of the Carleton University Indigenous Strategic Initiatives Committee (CUISIC) provided a presentation and update on their activities. Senate unanimously passed a motion declaring its support and endorsement of the committee and its work towards revitalizing Carleton’s Indigenous strategy and its relationship with Indigenous peoples on and off campus.

Chair’s Remarks

President Bacon shared news of the partnership between CUASA and the Provost, announced last Friday, towards 10 additional Indigenous faculty hires that was announced last Friday. He highlighted the recent announcements of Shireen Hassim as Canada 150 Research Chair in Gender and African Politics and of Ellen Waterman as the first Helmut Kallmann Chair for Music in Canada. He also reminded Senate that the review of the Sexual Violence Policy is ongoing and that a draft would be posted for comments on January 29. Finally, he commented on the recent government announcements, which he also covered in his recent P15 Blog post.

Spring Convocation Schedule Extended

Senate approved a modified spring convocation schedule, specifically adding a day to accommodate an additional ceremony. Spring convocation will now fall over a five day period consisting of nine ceremonies; this year from June 10-14. With this change, the Sprott School of Business and the Faculty of Engineering and Design will each have a dedicated day for graduates of their faculty. The final schedule will be available on the convocation website by the end of February.

New Linguistics Concentrations

Senate approved two new concentrations in the BA/BSc Linguistics Honours program:

  1. Linguistic Theory
  2. Psycholinguistics and Communication Disorders

BIT Photonics & Laser Technology Name Change

Senate approved the name change of the Bachelor of Information Technology, Photonics and Laser Technology to Bachelor of Information Technology, Optical Systems and Sensors. The School started with a list of 20 proposed names, which was condensed to three choices.  Two hundred current BIT students were polled, resulting in the new name. In addition, the number of courses was changed to better reflect the new focus.

Senator Spotlight: Anil Maheshwari

The Senate is composed of 86 members representing the Carleton community, like Anil Maheshwari, who is the elected faculty member for the School of Computer Science. Dr. Maheshwari is a professor and graduate director for the School of Computer Science. He also serves on the Senate Executive and Senate Academic Program committees. Learn more about Dr. Maheshwari.

Next Meeting: Feb. 15, 2019

The next Senate meeting is February 15, 2019. Click here to view the full schedule and meeting materials. Meeting minutes are posted once they become available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *