Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Academic) David Hornsby, is pleased to announce the outstanding educators who have been named 2023 Carleton University Teaching Award recipients.

Iain McKinnell, Ashley Thompson, Matthew Sorley

Iain McKinnell (Department of Biology and Institute of Biochemistry), Ashley Thompson (Department of Neuroscience) and Matthew Sorley (Department of Psychology) have received the Provost’s Fellowship in Teaching Award for their dedication to teaching excellence and the scholarship of teaching and learning. They have also been designated as Provost’s teaching fellows.

Ahmed Hassan, Karen Sewell, Trish Audette-Longo

Ahmed Hassan (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering), Karen Sewell (School of Social Work) and Trish Audette-Longo (School of Journalism and Communication) have been honoured with the New Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award for the energy they bring to their teaching and their pursuit of teaching excellence and innovation.

Julie McCarroll and Steve Truttmann

Julie McCarroll from the School of Linguistics and Language Studies, has received the Excellence in Blended and Online Teaching Award for their engaging teaching tools and techniques that have had an exceptional impact on student learning in online environments.

The Excellence in Learning Support Award has gone to Steve Truttmann (Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering) for his positive impact on student learning by fostering experiential learning in engineering labs.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients!