Senate met on February 15. Here are the highlights:

Senate Approves the Graduation of Over a Thousand Students

Senate congratulates the 1,066 students who completed all requirements towards graduation and will be eligible to attend Spring convocation.

Welcome New Senate Members

The Senate welcomes the following new undergraduate student members:

  • Taylor Arnt, Faculty of Public Affairs Representative
  • Millie Close, Faculty of Science Representative
  • Bashar Hnidi, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Representative
  • Brendan O’Malley, Faculty of Engineering and Design Representative

The Call for Nominations for student Senators for the 2019/2020 term will be released in early March. Information will be posted on the Senate website when available.

Chair’s Remarks

President Bacon congratulated Sarah Todd who won the 3M National Teaching Fellowship recognizing her exceptional contributions to teaching and learning. He highlighted the appointments of Jerry Tomberlin as Provost and Vice President of Academic as well as Dana Brown as the new Dean of the Sprott School of Business. In addition, President Bacon reiterated the good news of the $300 million Collaborate Campaign completion and thanked the Advancement team for their leadership.

New Undergraduate Dual Degree Policy

Senate approved the Undergraduate Dual Degree Policy which was created as a framework for the completion of dual degrees at the undergraduate level. The policy is modelled after the Graduate Dual Degree Policy and was reviewed by the Senate Committee on Curriculum, Admissions and Studies Policy (SCCASP) and Senate Academic Program Committee (SAPC) to allow for appropriate academic review.

Introduction of Concentration in Urban Geography

Senate approved the introduction of the concentration in Urban Geography to the Bachelor of Arts Geography program with effect in Fall 2019.

New Psychology Minor in Human Resources and Management

Senate approved the introduction of the minor in Human Resources and Management to the Bachelor of Arts Psychology program with effect in Fall 2019.

Program Name Changes

  • PhD in Information Technology: Digital Media now PhD in Information Technology
  • Master of Network Technology now Master of Information Technology
  • BA in Child Studies now BA in Childhood and Youth Studies

Senator Spotlight

The Senate is composed of 86 members representing the Carleton community, like Dr. Anne Bowker. Dr. Bowker is an Associate Professor and Associate Dean of Student Affairs for the Department of Psychology. Learn more about Dr. Bowker.

Next Meeting: March 29, 2019

The next Senate meeting is March 29, 2019. Click here to view the full schedule and meeting materials. Meeting minutes are posted once they become available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *