The Associate Vice-President (Teaching and Learning) is pleased to announce the outstanding educators who have been named 2021 Carleton University Teaching Award winners.

Kahente Horn-Miller (School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies) has received the Provost’s Fellowship in Teaching Award for her ongoing commitment to fostering relationships and engagement between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples that go beyond the written word, classroom and research settings. She has also been designated as a Carleton University teaching fellow.

Jason Jaskolka (Department of Systems and Computer Engineering), who has implemented engaging approaches for organizing and teaching courses, Brett Popplewell (School of Journalism and Communication), who has played a lead role in the journalism program’s anti-racism and equity efforts, and Deanna Whelan (Department of Psychology), who has made tremendous progress on increasing the student success rate in traditionally difficult courses, have been honoured with the New Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Excellence in Learning Support Award has gone to Ian Pulsifer (Department of Biology) for his outstanding contribution to the student learning experience. He has developed various teaching and grading tools that have been especially beneficial in assisting his colleagues and students transition to online learning.

This year was an exceptional one for online teaching and learning. The Excellence in Blended and Online Teaching Award received a record number of 20 applications, and in recognition of the outstanding efforts that have gone in to designing online courses this year, five winners have been selected rather than one. This year’s winners are Céline Bonnotte-Hoover (Department of French), Peter Coffman (School for Studies in Art and Culture), Katelyn Graham (School of Journalism and Communication), Gregory MacIsaac (College of the Humanities) and Marylynn Steckley (Arthur Kroeger College of Public Affairs) for their continued innovation and exceptional impact on student learning throughout the transition to a predominantly online learning environment.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Learn more about the teaching awards available to Carleton instructors and learning support staff here.