TLS offers workshops and certificate programs where faculty and instructors can come together to build interdisciplinary communities focused on teaching. Individual departments, however, may well have their own specific teaching and learning culture with discipline-specific teaching techniques and assessments. To that end, a number of departments across campus have Teaching Mentors who help to facilitate informal discussions about the issues educators may face within their departmental contexts.

The Role of Teaching Mentors

Teaching Mentors will take a leadership role to build on the informal mentorship that already occurs within academic departments. This leadership role will typically involve a number of elements, including:

  • Acting as the initial point of contact for new faculty members and contract instructors seeking advice on developing and teaching courses and acting as a resource for all instructors interested in further developing their teaching.
  • Planning/hosting at least one teaching seminar or roundtable in the department during each academic year.
  • Coordinating/curating the collection of shared teaching resources, such as sample course outlines and assessment tools (sample assignments, evaluation guides, marking rubrics).
  • Serving as a point of contact between TLS and the department for the promotion of teaching and learning events.

List of Teaching Mentors, 2021-2022

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Name Department Email Carleton Ext.
Marc Saurette History marc.saurette@carleton.ca x. 2831
Matthew Hawkins Sociology & Anthropology matthew.hawkins@carleton.ca x. 2795
Chris Motz Psychology chris.motz@carleton.ca x. 1940
Matt Sorley Psychology matthew.sorley@carleton.ca x. 8686
Deanna Whelan Psychology deanna.whelan@carleton.ca x. 1979
Adam Burrows English adam.burrows@carleton.ca x. 4093
Don Myles SLaLS don.myles@carleton.ca x. 6190

Faculty of Engineering and Design

Name Department Email Carleton Ext.
Paulo Garcia Systems & Computer Engineering paulo.garcia@carleton.ca x. 1535
Alan Steele Electronics alan.steele@carleton.ca x. 1551
Jeff Erochko Civil & Environmental Engineering jeffrey.erochko@carleton.ca x.  3235

Faculty of Public Affairs

Name Department Email Carleton Ext.
 Melanie Adrian Law & Legal Studies melanie.adrian@carleton.ca x. 2085
 Steve Tasson Law & Legal Studies steve.tasson@carleton.ca x. 8062
 Simon Power Economics simon.power@carleton.ca x. 3764
Mira Sucharov Political Science mira.sucharov@carleton.ca x. 3010
Robert Sauder  School of International Affairs robert.sauder@carleton.ca x. 1218
Chris Penny School of International Affairs chris.penny@carleton.ca x. 3581
 Beth Martin School of Social Work beth.martin@carleton.ca x. 4399
Madelena Santos Criminology & Criminal Justice madelena.santos@carleton.ca x. 1194

Faculty of Science

Name Department Email Carleton Ext.
John Stead Neuroscience john.stead@carleton.ca x. 8774
Matt Holahan Neuroscience matt.holahan@carleton.ca x. 1543
Wayne Horn School of Math & Statistics whorn@math.carleton.ca x. 1805
Veronic Bezaire  Chemistry veronic.bezaire@carleton.ca x. 5012
 Martha Mullally Biology martha.mullally@carleton.ca x. 6007
Jim Davies Institute of Cognitive Science jim.davies@carleton.ca x. 1109
Robert Collier  School of Computer Science robert.collier3@carleton.ca x. 4032
Dag Gillberg Department of Physics dag@physics.carleton.ca x. 4201
Laura Pickell Health Sciences laura.pickell@carleton.ca x. 7014
Geoff Pignotta Department of Earth Sciences geoff.pignotta@carleton.ca x. 3024

Sprott School of Business

Name Department Email Carleton Ext.
Rebecca Renfroe School of Business rebecca.renfroe@carleton.ca x. 4226

Interested in Being a Mentor?

Are you interested in becoming a teaching mentor? Contact us at tls@carleton.ca for more information.