Cross-appointed Faculty

Most of our instructors and research supervisors are professors drawn from Carleton’s Faculties of Public Affairs and Arts and Social Sciences, who are cross-appointed to the Institute and who specialize in different branches of political economy. Students are encouraged to explore and hone their research interests by working with these professors in both the Institute’s own courses and through graduate coursework taught by our faculty in other departments.  Our cross-appointed faculty are valuable contributors to the Institute as thesis and research essay supervisors and thesis committee members, and are on the Institute’s governing board.

Director, Institute of Political Economy

School of Canadian Studies

Department of Economics

Department of Geography and Environmental Studies

Department of History

Human Rights and Social Justice

School of Journalism and Communication 

Department of Law and Legal Studies

Department Political Science

School of Public Policy and Administration

Department of Sociology and Anthropology

School of Social Work

Feminist Institute of Social Transformation

Distinguished Research Professors

Adjunct Research Professors

Dr. Jeffrey Ayres
Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science and International Relations
Saint Michael’s College, Colchester, VT

Dr. Keith Denny
Director, WHO Collaborating Centre for the WHO Family of International Classifications (Canada)
Director, Clinical Data Standards & Quality, Canadian Institute for Health Information

Dr. Aaron Henry
Senior Director
Natural Resources and Sustainable Growth
Canadian Chamber of Commerce

Andrew Jackson
Senior Policy Advisor
Broadbent Institute

Dr. Angela Joya
Policy Analyst, Research and Evaluation
Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada

Dr. Tom Juravich
Professor, Department of Sociology
University of Massachusetts at Amherst, MA

Dr. Judy Meltzer
Director General, Carbon Pricing Bureau
Environment and Climate Change Canada

Dr. John Peters
Research Fellow, Interuniversity Research Centre on Globalization and Work
University of Montreal

Kevin Skerrett
Researcher, Director of Financialization Lab
Canadian Union of Public Employees

Jane Stinson
Director, FemNorthNet
Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women

Dr. Wally Seccombe
Researcher, Comparative Political Economy Database (CPEDB)